1 of September 2015

The AfDB is now supporting Angola through the SE4All Africa Hub

Through the SE4All Africa Hub, the African Development Bank (AfDB) is now supporting the development of the SE4All Country Action Agenda and Investment Prospectuses in four new countries: Angola, Democratic Republic of Congo, Malawi and Zimbabwe, along with Kenya, Tanzania and Rwanda, which are already supported.


Consulting firms were recruited in response to Government requests under the Africa Climate Technology Finance Center and Network, a recent GEF project implemented by AfDB. Actions have just started on the ground this summer 2015, and deliverables are expected to be finalized by early 2016.


The SE4All Action Agenda is a country-level umbrella framework for energy sector development with a long-term vision, ensuring overall sector-wide coherence and synergy of the accumulated efforts towards the three goals. Daniel-Alexander Schroth, SE4All Africa Hub coordinator, underlined the importance of the Action Agenda: “Action Agendas are being developed in more than 25 African countries and might become a national implementation framework for the Sustainable Development Goal on energy (SDG number 7). The support to four new countries is key to advance SE4All objectives in Africa.” With the Investment Prospectus, these nationally owned documents provide a credible framework for mobilizing investments for sustainable energy access, energy efficiency or renewable energy generation.